About Mexico

United Mexican States

Estados Unidos Mexicanos  (Spanish)
Anthem: Himno Nacional Mexicano
(English: “Mexican National Anthem”)

Location of Mexico
and largest city
Mexico City
19°26′N 99°08′W
Official languages
Recognized regional languages
National language Spanish (de facto)[b]
Demonym Mexican
Government Federal presidential
constitutional republic[3]
Enrique Peña Nieto
Ernesto Cordero Arroyo
Jorge Carlos Ramírez Marín
Legislature Congress
Chamber of Deputies
Independence from Spain
September 16, 1810[4]
September 27, 1821
December 28, 1836
October 4, 1824
February 5, 1857
February 5, 1917
• Total
1,972,550 km2(761,610 sq mi) (13th)
• Water (%)
• 2017 estimate
123,675,325[5] (11th)
• Density
61/km2 (158.0/sq mi) (142nd)
GDP (PPP) 2018 estimate
• Total
$2.498 trillion[6] (11th)
• Per capita
$20,028[6] (64th)
GDP (nominal) 2018 estimate
• Total
$1.250 trillion[6] (16th)
• Per capita
$10,021[6] (69th)
Gini (2014) 48.2[7]
HDI (2015) Increase 0.762[8]
high · 77th
Currency Peso (MXN)
Time zone See Time in Mexico(UTC−8 to −5)
• Summer (DST)
varies (UTC−7 to −5)
Drives on the right
Calling code +52
ISO 3166 code MX
Internet TLD .mx
  1. Article 4.° of the General Law of Linguistic Rights of the Indigenous Peoples.[9]
  2. ^ Spanish is the de facto official language of the Mexican federal government.

The United Mexican States is a federal republic in the southern portion of North America. It is bordered to the north by the United States; to the south and west by the Pacific Ocean; to the southeast by Guatemala, Belize, and the Caribbean Sea; and to the east by the Gulf of Mexico. Covering almost two million square kilometers (over 760,000 sq mi), the nation is the fifth largest country in the Americas by total area and the 13th largest independent state in the world.